breaking news

CAF Names Oshoala, Ordega, Others In Final Shortlist For 2018 CAF Awards

CAF Names Oshoala, Ordega, Others In Final Shortlist For 2018 CAF Awards

January 2nd, 2019

CAF Unveils Final Shortlist For 2018 Awards

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, has unveiled the final three shortlist of nominees for its 2018 player of the year award in both the male and female categories.

Nigerian duo of Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega, as well as South African Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana were named as the three finalists for the 2018 African Women’s Player of the Year.

24-year old Oshoala is the current holder of the award having won it three times already in 2014, 2016 and 2017 and is on course for a fourth award after helping Nigeria defend their African Women’s Cup of Nations title in December by defeating South Africa on penalties in the final.

Midfielder Ordega was also part of the victorious Falcons team and currently plays for the Washington Spirit in the USA.

22-year old South African forward, Kgatlana was named the Most Valuable Player of Women’s Championship in 2018.

In the male category, reigning Player of the Year, Mohamed Salah of Egypt, his Liverpool team-mate and Senegalese forward, Sadio Mane and 2015 winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Arsenal make the top three.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Get new posts by email:
Follow by Email
Visit Us